top of page

Meet the Apprentices!

Our 2016-2017 year marked several firsts for LOUD, including our first round of youth apprentices! In keeping with LOUD’s mission to be a youth-led, adult-supported space, two LOUD members have been taking on leadership roles within the ensemble. Our youth apprentices, Rashaad (King Kassh) Delaney and Trice Triceyy “Tricieydaddy” Reed, meet weekly with co-directors to help shape rehearsals, document LOUD on social media, discuss the spring production, and help plan all other LOUD related business. In addition, each will have a deeper role in the spring production, taking on additional duties in assistant directing and publicity.

Rashaad "King Kassh" Delaney

”I’m not only excited about the position and that everyone but that put their trust in me to be one of their team leaders… I’m excited to have social events and having an open door community every month... I hope we can travel to different parts of Louisiana. It gives our ensemble a chance to experience new things and for folks to understand the support network exists, to let folks know that these kinds of stories are out there, and it gives us a chance to tell our unique stories.”

Trice Triceyy “Tricieydaddy” Reed

“I can see us changing people’s lives because before I was openly lesbian, it was as if I couldn’t let that be known to my mom which was scary, LOUD was a chance for her to see that I could be somebody… I want people to see that we’re oppressed but to turn we that into something uplifting and powerful… I want youth who are open to us but closeted to the world to have confidence in themselves, in their art and in their truth… It’s your truth, it’s your life! And I just want them to live with confidence and happiness.”


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page